Don't just read this; join us!


Swimmer of the Year 2017

Created on 16 September 2017 Last Updated on 16 September 2017
Written by Niall O'Sullivan Hits: 263

                                                                 After many strong swims over the course of the 105 day season, Dublin SC did incredibly well in the Leinster Open Sea race series with the following results:

Ladies' Swimmer of the Year (Overall) - Jessica Lamb
Ladies' Swimmer of the Year (Masters) - Sandra Trappe
Men's Swimmer of the Year (Vets) - Niall O'Sullivan

Ladies' Team of the Year - 1st (thats 3 in a row)
Men's Team - 2nd overall (thats 2 in a row, hopefully one better in 2018)

Liffey Champs on the Treble for 2017

Created on 16 September 2017 Last Updated on 16 September 2017
Written by Niall O'Sullivan Hits: 314

It was a Dublin Bus scenario, for Dublin SC, you wait a few years for one Liffey winner, and then an hour later another arrives, followed within seconds by a team victory. What a day for the club!

Ladies' Liffey Winner - Anne Marie Bourke
Men's Liffey Winner - Colin Monaghan
Ladies' Liffey Team Winners - Anne Marie 1st, Mairin McDevitt 9th, Claire O'Dwyer 10th and Amy Keating in 12th  (and men came a strong 5th)

Ladies U25 Winner - Heather Bourke

Ladies Supermaster - Mairin McDevitt

Thank you to all the swimmers who won a team prize throughout the year, all the swimmers who took to the sea for the first time in their lives, all the swimmers who helped other swimmers in their endeavours, the captains, the stand-in captains, the committee, and every member who helped the club in any way.


Three Race Weekend - June Bank Hol 2017

Created on 09 June 2017 Last Updated on 09 June 2017
Written by Niall O'Sullivan Hits: 442

Greystones: DSC member Ger Kennedy and his team put together an incredibly well organised race, timing the tide just in time to give swimmers a fun, fast swim in to Greystones harbour. Thanks to everyone involved in pulling it off, in particular those responsible for the cakes.

In the first race, the men’s team just missed out on first place. Men’s team captain Jody Clarke ignored his own advice and went for glory, banjaxing any chance of seeing 1st place until c. 2023. Yves Michalet had an excellent 5th place, with Mike McInerney in 13th and Eoin Mcdonald in 14th making sure DSC had four men in the top 15.

In the ladies, Melanie Anderson, Dee King and Cecilia McAllister joined Lisa Essuman in the top 10, assuring DSC ladies of first place. Also to note two strong swims from Eileen Remedios in 8th and Ladies captain Caitriona Kehily in 13th who were unfortunate to miss out on a team place.

South Wall: Participants in Sunday evening’s race would be forgiven for thinking that a beluga whale was doing dolphin kicks off the Poolbeg lighthouse. Amy Murphy in 4th, Aoife Kiely in 5th, Jennifer Murrin in 10th and Jessica Lamb in 11th put the ladies firmly in first place, not an easy achievement given the conditions.

In the men’s, Eoin McDonald in 3rd, Marco Losi in 19th, Phelim May in 20th and Paul Nolan in 29th put the men in second, and in contention for first place in the overall team competition. This position was solidified on Monday.

Lough Lene: In a much more competitive race than previous years, with 95 men and 73 women taking part. Niall O’Sullivan was almost a minute in front of the next man, with Phelim May 13th, Mark Dunne in 14th and Mike McInerney in 20th, giving us team prize.

In the ladies, Valerie Hayes came in 6th, Sandra Trappe 13, Cecilia McMaster in 26th and Jessica Lamb 27th.

Dubliin Swimming Club History Archive

Created on 27 May 2017 Last Updated on 09 June 2017
Written by Niall O'Sullivan Hits: 269

In 2016 Dublin SC established what may be the first swimming club archive in Ireland. The club donated precious information from the very early years of the club. Newspaper clippings, gala programmes and more, had been kept in a scrapbook by an early member. This was passed down through a number of generations of club committees and to ensure its continued survival, the information is now located in the Dublin City Library sports archives at Pearse St Library. Those interested in viewing the archive can do so there. If you have old information or memorabilia we would love to hear from you also. Please contact the club at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

With the 100th Liffey Swim fast approaching the club is especially keen to identify Liffey related materials and stories involving past members.

Pearse St Library details are available at

A New Open Water Season for 2017

Created on 27 May 2017 Last Updated on 27 May 2017
Written by Niall O'Sullivan Hits: 330

May 28 heralds the start of the 2017 Leinster Open Sea swim series. Dublin SC are the reigning ladies champions and came second in 2016 in the men's league. For the first time, certainly in recent decades, the club has the largest teams in both, with 50 swimmers registered in each at the start of the season. Best of luck to all our swimmers, new and not so new! 

Many newer members have availed of the club's open water practice sessions during May and with three coached pool sessions available each week, members fitness is up on previous years, so hopes are high for the season. Go Team!


Joomla 2.5 Templates designed by Textildruck